Call for Nomination: CES 2024 Election

Title Call for Nomination: CES 2024 Election
Date 2024-06-29

Dear CES Members:


It is time to elect a new CES President-Elect and six members of the Board of Directors. The President-Elect will assume office of the President of CES from September 1, 2025 to August 31, 2026. The Board of Directors will work with the next President, Professor Susan Lu, and will assume office from September 1, 2024 to August 31, 2025.


The CES Nomination and Election Committee (NEC) consists of three immediate former presidents as voting members and the current president and president-elect as non-voting members.


The NEC oversees the nomination and election process. The general procedure is as follows:


(1)     To be eligible for President-Elect, a candidate must have been a Member of CES for more than two years, must have served as a member of the Board of Directors for at least one term, and must work primarily in North America during the presidential term.

(2)     Anyone with valid CES membership can be nominated to serve as a board director. The majority of the Board of Directors must work primarily in North America during their term.

(3)     Every CES member can nominate one candidate for president-elect and no more than six candidates for the board of directors. The nominator must have the consent of the nominee for the nomination and should provide bio information on all candidates nominated. Any candidate on the ballot for the election must be nominated by at least two CES members.


If you are interested in serving the CES community, or know someone who is willing and qualified to so, please contact me at as soon as possible.  All nominations must be received by July 31, 2024. Each nominee should prepare and send a bio-statement of no more than 300 words and a personal statement of no more than 500 words to the NEC, which will present the candidates to the CES membership for consideration. For more information about the role and responsibilities of CES president and the board of directors, please check the CES Bylaws online at


We would like to urge all of you to participate in the election. Your active involvement is important to the success of the CES.


Thank you for your support.




Qihong Liu, University of Oklahoma, Regent Chair, Voting Member

Li Qi, Agnes Scott College, Voting Member

Gordon Gao, Johns Hopkins University, Voting Member

Carl Lin, Bucknell University, Non-Voting Member

Susan Lu, Purdue University, Non-Voting Member